Tuesday, May 10, 2011

May is Celiac Disease Awareness Month


Successful living


A Gluten Free Diet

With these helpful hints, you’ll know what foods contain gluten and know what to avoid.

It is important to learn about the gluten-free diet since it is the only treatment for celiac disease.

Knowing What to Look For: Reading Labels

The best way to know if a product is gluten free is to read the ingredients label. To determine if a product contains gluten, there are five main words you need to know:
  • Wheat, Barley, Rye, Malt and Oats

Looking for these key five words will help you identify products that contain gluten. You need to check labels often. Ingredients can change over time, so checking the ingredients label every time is the most accurate way to identify what is in a food or beverage product. After you have read the label and have determined that the product does not contain these obvious sources of gluten, you may always contact the manufacturer to confirm. Studies suggest that pure oats that are not mixed with wheat, barley, or rye consumed in moderation can be tolerated by most people with celiac disease. Check with your health care provider to find out if this is right for you.

Healthful Gluten-Free Eating

Many foods are naturally free of gluten, unless it was added in manufacturing. People who follow a gluten free diet can enjoy a variety of foods, including:
  • Plain beef, pork and lamb
  • Plain fish and shellfish
  • Plain chicken and turkey
  • Plain fruits
  • Plain vegetables
  • Plain beans
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Rice, Wild Rice
  • Quinoa
  • Lentils
  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Soy
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Flax

Frequently Overlooked Foods that May Contain Gluten

  • Broth
  • Candy
  • Coating mixes
  • Croutons
  • Imitation bacon
  • Imitation seafood
  • Marinades
  • Processed meats
  • Sauces and gravies
  • Seasoning
  • Soy sauce
  • Thickeners
  • Vegetarian meat substitutes

You should discuss with your healthcare provider about being tested for celiac disease prior to beginning a gluten-free diet. It is very difficult to get a true diagnosis once you have removed gluten from your diet. Knowing if you have celiac disease or not is important for long-term management of your health and could impact whether or not your family members should consider being screened as this is a genetic disease.

No comments:

Post a Comment